Programmers?

I thought I would use this fancy new forum section to explore a hobby of mine.

I'm guessing that there are a few decent computer programmers here with this being an online game and all. I was just wondering about your experiences, knowledge extent, etc. I am a noob programmer who only works on it in my spare time, although I hope to get better at it and possibly go into a career for it.

Any comments you people wanna share?
Forum Moderator: The Chill One ~ Gale Points: 52
The only thing standing between me and immortality is death.

Re: Programmers?

In my undergrad I used to partake in programming contest that was held globally named ACM Programming Contest. I think from programmers point of view that is the most fun time i ever had cause it was just sheer joy of breaking problems and creating results out of the blue. the day we stood in the podium in the national rank the excitement was no less than winning a 100 meter sprint for the univ.

the fun of re-inventing solutions that we never had ideas before was self fulfilling. that was the golden age of learning programming concepts. everything was fresh and flamboyantly flavored.

like all the professions a programmers life also demands certain level of monotonicity, but the best part is u always are moving forward with the state of the art tech from the next world. you wont have that in any other professions. stability is demanded but the tools and apparatus that a programmer uses the novelty that it presents is great.

learning programming can be tedious but the first step is always the hardest... i know i didnt understand a simple bubble sort when i first started was funny as hell when i figured why i needed to sort some random numbers hehe..